Posted in Essentials

Pin Trading 101

One of the best things to do in the Disney parks is pin trading! Since starting in 1999, fans have been collecting and trading pins based on favorite attractions and characters. While there are huge pin traders, there are also fans who do not know how to pin trade. It is so easy and simple! This will give a little overview of how to pin trade:

First, you will need pins. You can buy pin trading starter sets from the parks. These usually come with a lanyard and a few pins. You could also buy your own lanyard and pins separately in the parks.

 

Next, you will find someone to trade pins with. Most cast members have a black lanyard with pins to trade with anyone. If you see one you like, just ask the cast member and they will trade for your pin. You can also trade with other guests in the park if they are open for trading. I frequently see family members trade with each other if they find someone had gotten the pin they wanted from a mystery pin pack.

Finally, you repeat! You can trade over and over with different cast members. You can purchase additional pin sets to trade. You can also research pin collections to collect.

I usually buy limited edition or limited release pins to collect for myself. I display my pins on a cork board that I redesigned for pins. I highly recommend doing this if you want to showcase your pins.

Have you got any questions about pin trading? Or do you have an extra special pin collection? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment