Posted in Movie inspired, Park Exclusives

The Force is Strong With This Merchandise

“A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…”

That quote is one of the most easily recognized quotes in cinematic history. In 1977, a little known movie called Star Wars was released. The instant fan favorite would go on to spawn two trilogies, with a third one under way, spin-offs, and bring different generations to enjoy what is easily the biggest movie saga. With the newest movie, Episode 8: The Last Jedi, coming out in December, Star Wars has done the impossible.

Star Wars has been such a big thing in my life the past few years. I immediately fell in love with the original trilogy, and the new movie, The Force Awakens, once it was released. I’ll never forget being at Launch Bay in Hollywood Studios on opening day with my friends. We ended up meeting Darth Vader and every once of us were scared and laughed the entire time. I have accumulated some really cool merchandise, and here is some of the more awesome pieces I have:

My first piece is my “Join the Rebellion” MagicBand. You can get it custom made at Launch Bay Cargo, the merchandise store in Hollywood Studios. At the store, you can also get custom made phone cases. Every custom made item is specially designed for that store, and it is able to personalized.

As you know, I am an avid pin collector, and these are just two of the pins I own. The two were specially released in 2016 to commemorate May the 4th and Revenge of the 5th. I also have the 2016 Disney Chase Visa cardholder pin, which is Darth Vader, as well as 2016 Inaugural Dark Side run, Han and Leia “I love you,” “I know,” and a “Chewie, We’re Home” Millennium Falcon pins.

One really cool park exclusive that Hollywood Studios has is name tags. You can choose between six different name tags, and they will put your name in the official Star Wars language. It’s really cool! And they’re inexpensive, if you’re looking for the perfect way to show your dark or light side.

As you can see above, under the first name tag, I have the Princess Leia Alex and Ani bracelet. I also have an “I love you” “I know” one. Besides those two, I have a BB-8 and “May the Force Be With You” Alex and Ani bracelets (not shown).

I am a sucker once it comes to handbags and accessories! If you could not tell by my collection of Alex and Ani bracelets, I just need to have these nice items, which is why I made this impromptu purchase at the Dark Side marathon expo last April! This limited edition Dooney & Bourke wristlet was not on my need to purchase list, but I found perfect placement and knew it was meant to be. It’s actually one of my favorite bags I own!

I love a good clothing item, and these have been some of my favorite things! The first is a vintage Her Universe shirt. One sleeve is a tank top while the other is a regular sleeve. It shows the vintage Empire Strikes Back (my favorite movie of the saga!) poster. The second is matching “I love you” “I know” tee shirts. My best friend, Citlalli, and I purchased these as a joke, but we love them! I also would not be a big Star Wars fan if it was not for her and a few other close friends. The last is a Her Universe dress that I found on sale from Torrid. I got an amazing deal on it, and it was the perfect Halloween costume! I now use it for cosplays, and you can bet my lightsaber is not far away!

If you are heading to the Star Wars Celebration in Orlando next month, definitely check out these items! The images were just released, and this is the first The Last Jedi merchandise you can get your hands on! It is also a part of the Force for Change collection, which means a portion of the proceeds goes to Unicef to help with their cause. The first item is a pin with the Resistance symbol, as well as (from left) Poe, Finn, Rey and BB-8 on it. The next items are three different tee shirts. The first style is an adult tee shirt with the four characters on it, the second is a women’s shirt with Rey on it, and lastly there is a kid’s shirt with BB-8 on it. These items will be available in the Disney parks starting later this spring/early summer.

Whether you are dark side or light side, Jedi or Sith, master or padawan, everyone can agree: these items are out of this world! I can’t wait to get my hands on the new Last Jedi items this summer, and I’m sure we will be seeing more Star Wars merchandise in the next month with the second Dark Side RunDisney event happening. But, until then, “May the force be with you!”

Leave a Reply

